Mathematical Sciences Research Institute

Home » Andrew Viterbi

Personal Profile of Dr. Andrew Viterbi

Dr. Andrew Viterbi
Dr. Andrew Viterbi is a co-founder and retired Vice Chairman and Chief Technical Officer of QUALCOMM Incorporated. He spent equal portions of his career in industry, having also co-founded a previous company, and in academia as Professor in the Schools of Engineering first at UCLA and then at UCSD, at which he is now Professor Emeritus. He is currently president of the Viterbi Group, a technical advisory and investment company. His principal research contribution, the Viterbi Algorithm, is used in most digital cellular phones and digital satellite receivers, as well as in such diverse fields as magnetic recording, voice recognition and DNA sequence analysis. In recent years he has concentrated his efforts on establishing CDMA as the multiple access technology of choice for cellular telephony and wireless data communication. Dr. Viterbi has received numerous honors both in the U.S. and internationally. Among these are four honorary doctorates, from the Universities of Waterloo, Rome, Technion and Notre Dame, as well as memberships in the National Academy of Engineering, the National Academy of Sciences and the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. He has received the Marconi International Fellowship Award, the IEEE Alexander Graham Bell and Claude Shannon Awards , the NEC C&C Award, the Eduard Rhein Award and the Christopher Columbus Medal.
Current/Future Committee Membership
Name Office Start Date End Date
Emeriti Trustees Mar 01, 2017 Feb 28, 2026

Past Committee Membership
Name Office Start Date End Date
Board of Trustees Apr 01, 2001 Apr 01, 2005
Board of Trustees Mar 05, 2005 Mar 01, 2009
Board of Trustees Mar 02, 2009 Feb 28, 2013
Committee on Trustees Mar 01, 2003 Mar 01, 2004
Committee on Trustees Aug 06, 2010 Mar 01, 2011
Committee on Trustees Aug 31, 2011 Feb 29, 2012
Corporate Partners Committee Mar 08, 2008 Feb 28, 2013
Development Committee Mar 01, 2003 Mar 01, 2013
Endowment Campaign Committee Jul 01, 2010 Feb 28, 2013